How does Klarna make money? Who pays in the UK, by product
Klarna says the retailer pays. Its UK pages, read 15 October 2026, show where shoppers pay too: late fees, Financing interest and a paid Card membership.
Klarna says it makes its money from retailers, not shoppers: on its interest-free plans it pays the shop upfront, minus a fee, and the shopper repays Klarna over time. In the UK, its own pages add shopper-side charges: late fees on missed payments, interest on Financing, and a paid membership for Klarna Card Pay Later plans.
That first point is Klarna’s account in its own words. Its press note, dated 5 January 2026, answers how does Klarna make money with a $200 pair of roller skates: Klarna does not pass the full $200 to the shop but deducts a fee and pays it “say, $196”. The note’s own summary is that the retailer pays. It is a US-dollar illustration with “say” in front of the figure, not a published UK rate, and none of the Klarna UK pages this desk read states what a UK merchant is charged.
This is an evergreen explainer. This desk read Klarna’s Pay in 3 product page, its help page on what happens if you can’t pay on time, the press note and its UK terms index on 15 October 2026. The figures below are those pages’ figures on that day.
How does Klarna make money in the UK, product by product?
| Product (as Klarna names it) | Who pays Klarna when you pay on time | What a missed payment can add | Page it comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay in 3 | The retailer; three interest-free instalments every 30 days, “no fees” on time | A late fee if not collected “up to 14 days” after the due date; one per unpaid instalment; none under £1 left | Pay in 3 page |
| Pay in 3, 6 or 12 | The retailer; interest-free | Missed amount added to the next payment; “late fees” and possible debt collection | Help page |
| Pay in 30 days | The retailer; “no late fees or interest” on time | Late fees and debt collection | Pay in 3 page; help page |
| Financing (6-24 months) | The shopper, in interest: representative 21.9% APR (fixed) | Missed amount added to next month; late and unpaid balances on your credit file | Pay in 3 page; help page |
| Klarna Card Pay Later plans | The shopper: “paid membership required”, representative 35.1% APR (fixed) | Not stated on the page read | Pay in 3 page |
| Klarna Credit Card | Not stated on the pages read | Klarna “may report the entire Klarna Credit Card balance” as overdue | Help page |
Klarna’s Financing example is £1,200 over 12 months: 11 payments of £111.15 and a last of £111.05, £1,333.70 in total, so £133.70 is the charge for credit. Purchases run from £250 to £10,000, a 10% or higher downpayment may be required, and the lender named is Klarna Financial Services UK Limited (nr 14290857). The pages read use both “Klarna Card” and “Klarna Credit Card” and do not say whether they are one product, so the table keeps them apart.
How does Klarna make money if there is no interest?
On the interest-free plans, through the merchant fee. Klarna’s case for why shops accept it is that shoppers are more likely to finish a purchase when they can spread the cost. Read the other way, the shopper pays nothing extra only while every instalment lands on time, and the cost of the plan sits in the retailer’s margin rather than on the receipt.
The Pay in 3 page also advertises cashback at named stores. That is a shopper offer, and nothing on the pages read describes it as a source of Klarna’s income, so this post does not count it as one.
Does Klarna charge late fees in the UK?
Yes. The Pay in 3 page says a late fee is added if Klarna has not collected an instalment “up to 14 days” after it is due, after reminders by SMS, push notification and email. The help page says unpaid debt “together with incurred fees” may go to debt collection. None of the pages read states the fee in pounds. The product pages say “Ts&Cs and late fees apply”, and for agreements made after 15 July 2026 the terms index lists a separate Deferred Payment Agreement for Pay in 3 and for Pay Later in 30 Days.
What changed for Klarna on 15 July 2026?
Klarna’s terms index says that at 00:00 on 15 July 2026 buy-now-pay-later, “also called deferred payment credit”, became regulated in the UK. Its help page says reporting Pay Later and Pay in 3 usage to credit reference agencies is now “a legal requirement under FCA regulation”. What that does to a credit file is in whether Klarna affects your credit score, and the rules themselves in what changed on 15 July 2026. The same who-pays question, asked of another provider, is in Zilch, assessed on where the cost sits.
Questions readers ask
How does Klarna make its money?
Klarna’s own answer is the merchant fee: it pays the shop upfront, minus a fee, and the shopper repays Klarna over time. Its UK pages add charges that fall on shoppers: late fees on missed Pay in 3 and Pay in 30 days payments, interest on Financing at a representative 21.9% APR, and a paid membership for Klarna Card Pay Later plans.
How does Klarna make money? What is their business model?
The model is credit offered at the checkout. Klarna pays the retailer upfront, keeps a fee, and the shopper repays Klarna over time; Klarna says shops accept this because shoppers are more likely to complete a purchase. Interest-free plans earn from the retailer while paid on time; Financing earns interest from the shopper; missed payments can add fees and, Klarna says, debt collection.
How do companies like Klarna and Afterpay make money?
The pages read for this post are Klarna’s own, so they answer for Klarna only: a fee deducted from what the merchant is paid, plus consumer charges on some products. How any other provider earns is set out in that provider’s own terms and merchant pages, which this desk did not read for this post.
Before choosing a plan, the document worth reading is the agreement for that product, not the checkout badge, because the product pages leave the late-fee amount to the terms. Fin Watch is a publisher, not an authorised firm, and nothing here is financial advice; check any firm’s status on the FCA Register before you deal with it.